Hyundai Primed for Successful Weekend in Sebring

After the season opener at DAYTONA International Speedway for the 2023 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge (IMPC), Hyundai’s race teams have their eyes set to capitalize on previous success at Sebring International Raceway in Sebring, Fla., for the Alan Jay Automotive Network 120 race.

As Hyundai continues their fight for the 2023 Drivers’, Teams’, and Manufacturers’ championship titles they currently occupy two of the top four championship standings after the 2023 season opener in January. The Bryan Herta Autosport (BHA) pairing of Mark Wilkins and Mason Filippi are third in the championship after achieving a podium-finish in the first round of the season with Deily Motorsports’ Tyler Maxson and Jacob Deily in fourth.

Reigning IMPC Champions Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis had a hard-fought weekend at the first round of the year and look to bring home hardware once again following back-to-back podiums at Sebring International Raceway in 2021 and 2022. Robert Wickens and Harry Gottsacker are ready to continue their momentum into Sebring International Raceway following a promising qualifying effort in the first round of IMPC competition.

Ahead of the Alan Jay Automotive Network 120, van der Steur Racing returns to the IMPC grid in the No. 91 Hyundai Elantra N TCR where Tyler Maxson will move from Deily Motorsports to pilot the No. 91 entry with Bryan Ortiz. Given the driver movement following the first round of IMPC competition, Deily Motorsports will be represented by Jacob Deily and Cabot Bigham in the No. 70 Elantra N TCR and new co-driver pairing of Nate Stacy and James Vance in the No. 74 Elantra N TCR.

Success at Sebring International Raceway is familiar to Hyundai teams as BHA has won two of the last four IMPC races at the 17-turn circuit. The second round of the IMPC schedule is set for Thursday, March 16, 2023, with green flag flying at 1:20 p.m. ET for the two-hour event.

  • Sebring International Raceway: 3.74-mile, 17-turn road course
  • Championship Standings: Third place for No. 98 Elantra N TCR drivers Mark Wilkins and Mason Filippi

Hyundai Championship Standings

3M. Wilkins / M. FilippiBryan Herta Autosport#98 Elantra N TCR300
4T. Maxson / J. DeilyDeily Motorsport#70 Elantra N TCR280
6R. Wickens / H. GottsackerBryan Herta Autosport#33 Elantra N TCR250
8M. Lewis / T. HaglerBryan Herta Autosport#1 Elantra N TCR230
14C. Bigham / M. JaskolDeily Motorsport#74 Elantra N TCR170

IMSA TCR Manufacturer Standings

PositionManufacturerTotal Points
4Alfa Romeo280